Post-Election 2016

My feelings about this Election are hard to articulate. I am a mix of shock, anger, sadness, disappointment, grief, faith, and hope.

I am shocked by the rampant misogyny and white supremacy in this nation. Shock meaning extremely disappointed and speechless. I had hoped that, considering the vast number of Bernie supporters and progressives, Hillary Clinton could win in critical states. I can only assume Trump voters prioritized certain issues and privileges over others.

That makes me angry. At them. Then at me for being angry at them. My anger is split. I want to be angry at the people who voted for Trump because we all know his presidency will be an even worse shitshow than his campaign. But then again, I don’t want to fully engage in that behavior. The class acts of Hillary Clinton and Michelle Obama remind me at all times to take the high road. Because as members of marginalized groups, we can’t really sink to the levels of Trump. So yes, I’m expressing my frustration toward voters. However, there is nothing we can do about it now. Clinton won the popular vote, which means a majority of Americans wanted a president who was a woman, progressive (more or less), and inclusive (again more or less).

I grieve her loss. I supported Bernie and begrudgingly supported her. She and I have different stances on a number of issues. However, I respected her. She is one of the most amazing politicians of our time, an absolute political lion. She was forced to take on traditionally masculine qualities that so clearly dominate our political system. She is a fighter in every sense of the word. I thank her for her efforts.

Clinton’s progress in the presidential election is monumental! She is probably over-qualified for the position of president. Her ability to inspire almost everyone, even some of her opponents, is powerful. The trail she blazed won’t be taken for granted.

I have great hope in my generation, the majority of 18-25 year olds in 2016.I have faith in us. I have faith in the people of America, not the “True Americans,” but the ones who care about the people and the land more than the symbols of privilege. The people of the First Nations combating colonialism and genocide for centuries. The refugees escaping religious persecution, natural disaster, and warfare. The free people making a good life for themselves where they can love and laugh. The immigrants coming to create a better life for their families. The laborers working their fingers to the bone to make a good living. I have faith that they will take care of and protect others from harm and hate.

We can rise to the occasion. We can change things by continuing to uplift each other. We can support candidates that combat racism, sexism, anti-semitism, homophobia, and xenophobia. We can become those candidates. We need to nurture the hell out of each other the next few years. We can’t expect anything from our governments (oh the irony?). We need to organize.

Speaking for an Asian American perspective:

We inherited from our ancestors the resilience and strength to endure.

We inherited from our people the power to love and resist against hate and bigotry.

We have overcame worse and we will do it again.

America won’t stop changing. Americans won’t stop diversifying. We will bring a new era of radical love.

Leave a Reply

